Day 29: Show Someone You Like Them

friend sayingWorking as a substitute teacher today I experienced another example of the way that kids always teach me the most meaningful lessons.

One little girl and I spent indoor recess making up stories and telling them to each other.  Her story was about misunderstood zombies who just wanted to be friends with little girls.  My story was about a little girl, who ironically looked just like the student and had her name, who wanted to eat various desserts for breakfast, which her mother wouldn’t allow until they both finally agreed on fruit salad.

After sharing our stories we were fast friends, and she stuck by me as much as the day would allow.  I enjoyed her company and gave her a lot of positive feedback as she made good choices throughout the day.  Toward the end of the day she asked if I was coming back and told me that she liked me.  “I hope I will be back again because I like you, too,” I told her.  “I can tell that you like me,” she responded matter-of-factly, “That’s why I like you.”

When people like us, and show us that they like us, it makes it pretty hard not to like them back.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Day 29: Show Someone You Like Them

  1. Joy Kirr says:

    Michele,
    I called my mom… Just because. It’s been awhile. Is this kindness enough?? I’ve got to try harder!

Leave a comment